Acne and Stress: Back to School Breakouts

A typical acne breakout for me… yikes!

Today was my first day of fall classes, yay! I’m always excited to be back at school, except for one thing: my skin starts breaking out! Throughout the summer, my skin stays fairly clear with a few breakouts every once in a while. Then a few days ago, my acne started flaring up out of nowhere.

My acne always flares up  during the school year, but usually not until the second or third week of classes.It’s odd because I haven’t really been that stressed recently. Actually, compared to the last few weeks, my stress level has been relatively low. It could have something to do with the fact that I’ve been eating more food in general,  especially more junk food. Or my skin could just be playing catch up to my stress a few weeks ago. Who knows.

If you’re struggling with back to school acne breakouts, here’s a little piece of advice that may help you deal with them.


Ignore it: don’t stress about your acne too much

Easier said than done, right? How can you just ignore something that’s staring your peers in the face? I know it sounds crazy, but think about it. If stress leads to acne, and you’re stressing out about your acne, you’re only going to cause more acne! It’s a vicious cycle, really.

When my acne started spreading to my shoulders and upper arms, I was mortified. I woke up looking at my skin, rubbing my arms, hoping that the pimples would magically go away. I stared at my arms in the shower, I’d always put cream on them at night, and repeat the same thing the next day. I was always, ALWAYS thinking about how my skin looked and what other people were thinking of me.

Eventually, I learned to be comfortable in my skin, and I didn’t care anymore what people thought. I realized that millions of people just like me were dealing with acne, and it wasn’t worth stressing out over anymore. And guess what? Without changing too much in my skincare routine or diet, the acne on my arms slowly started to clear up. It still see a few pimples every now and then, and unfortunately the scars are still there, but it has definitely improved since I stopped stressing out about it all the time.

I know acne is annoying and embarrassing, but trust me, people aren’t judging you or staring at your skin as much as you think. And if they are, they probably aren’t worth a minute more of your time anyway. Just try to ignore it as much as you can to minimize the stress it’s causing you, and focus on your studies and other things that matter to you.

Even though my skin looks less than desirable right now, I’m not too worried about it. Nobody loves me any less because of it, and I’m still determined to clear my skin for GOOD. I hope you all will come along for the ride. :)

Happy studying!

Does your skin breakout more during the school season? What tips do you have to keep it clear?

Comments

