The Clear Skin Equation: Three Major Things That Could Help Clear Your Acne

There are tons of factors that could be causing your acne, and what’s causing mine could be different than what’s causing yours. However, I believe there are three main things that we can work on in order to clear our skin for life, not just temporarily. I thought it’d be fun to put it in equation form, so here it is:

Natural Skincare Routine + Healthy Diet + Emotional Health = Clear Skin!

Obviously, this equation is in its most basic form. These are just three major things I feel could make a huge impact on my skin personally and hopefully yours as well. Here’s the breakdown…

Natural Skincare Routine

For some, changing their skincare routine alone could completely clear their acne! I’ve never seen it personally, but I’ve read a few stories online. Now when I say changing your skincare routine, I don’t mean just buying the newest acne product on the shelf. Ironically, many acne products that claim to clear your skin have ingredients in them that will further irritate your skin!  Even if the product claims it is “natural,” chances are it still has some lab ingredients in it that just aren’t good for you or your acne.

Everyone’s skin will respond differently, but a good place to start is by finding natural, organic products that are gentle on skin and effective at clearing acne. Personally, I’ve recently been using honey to cleanse my face and coconut oil as a moisturizer. (Stay tuned to see how that’s working out!) There are plenty of natural alternatives out there, you just have to figure out what works for you. I’m pretty sure it’s not that acne product you bought off the shelf, though.

Healthy Diet

This one’s a biggie. Years and years ago, I would have never guessed that the food I put into my body would be the cause of my acne. Boy, was I wrong! Honestly, I think an unhealthy diet might be the biggest culprit for my acne. But actually, it’s the thing I’m most excited about changing.

Do I have food allergies/sensitivities? That I’m not sure of, but I’ve started to feel very strongly about processed foods, and I just know it’s not good for my skin and body as a whole. Truthfully, after years of eating unhealthy food, I think I’ll need to do a body cleanse, most likely a Candida cleanse. (Stay tuned for more on that, too!) After that, I’d like to start eating as healthy as possible in order to keep my acne at bay, and hopefully make it disappear!

Emotional Health

My acne doesn’t flare up as much as it used to; it seems like the less I worried about my acne, the more it started to clear up. In my experience, less stress usually leads to less acne and vice versa. Trust me, I know stress isn’t always avoidable, but I guess the goal here is to try and accept ourselves and be aware of how your happiness and emotional health could be affecting your acne.

So, that’s it in a nutshell. Or equation. Anywho, thanks for reading!

What do you think is causing your acne?

Do you think you need to work on any of the three things in the equation?

2 responses to “The Clear Skin Equation: Three Major Things That Could Help Clear Your Acne

  1. Emily, I think you will help a lot of people with your blog. I hope you don’t mind a comment from “the older generation”. I suffered with acne all through my high school years and well into my older years. I had an idea it resulted from all the sweets that I ate. I was a big fan of candy, ice cream, cookies, pop or soda. I knew it wasn’t healthy, but I could not shake that sweet thing. Most of the time, after I would indulge, a big bump would appear right on the tip of my already big nose just in time for homeroom. The most embarrassing time in my life.

    The older I got, the less sweets I did eat, thus deminlishing my acne problem. However, I did continue my love affair with root beer and butter pecan ice cream. I would buy a half-gallon and finish it off within a couple days. WOW!! the best. However, when I least expected it, here comes the bump. Right where I did not want it. Just in time for me to carry it to work. How embarrassing.

    About six months ago, I joined the boot camp of Nina Robinson who’s quite knowledgeable in physical fitness and health. She encourage me to drink more water for hydration. Also, she advised me to start watching my food. Eat “clean food”, she would say. At the time I did not know what clean food was, because I had never heard that before. I started noticing that after I ate at some restaurants, my feet would swell. This meant that the food contained a lot of sodium and no telling what else. Now I know what “clean food” is. Its when I make it myself and know what’s in it. I do not add salt and try to eat organic when possible.

    However, it’s the gallon of water a day that does the trick. I did not realize it until I saw a friend that I had not seem in over a year. She said that she knew that I was taking care of myself because my skin was very clear. I did not realize it until after I looked in the mirror. It was clearer than it had ever been. It was the water. I still have a few root beers every now and then. Thanks, Em.

    • Thank you so much for your comment, Stan, I was smiling the whole time I was reading it!

      I agree, sugar and sweets are definitely huge culprits for acne and other health problems. Eating “clean” is exactly what I want to start doing, it’s just hard to get started when I’m so used to eating all the processed foods from the store. I’m glad you’ve been able to start eating clean! :)

      Water, I should have added that into the equation! Funny you mention the gallon of water per day, my mom is ALWAYS telling me to drink more water. Ever since I was little, I never drank very much liquids and I’m not sure why. I was the one who left the glass half full on the table. I drink mostly water during the day with some juice or pop every now and then, but I certainly do not drink enough water. I think that would be a great place to start for me.

      Thanks, Stan! Glad you’re enjoying the blog.

Comments

